NanoWriMo’s here again


I had thought that I wouldn’t be able to do the NanoWriMo Challenge this year. Last year, my first ever NanoWriMo, didn’t work out very well with me only getting about 15 000 words done. Fortunately, things have changed and I’m now all fired-up about starting my new novel in a few days time – my first new novel for this year!

It was confusing having two ideas I wanted to develop. So I asked the wee cousins which one they most wanted to read. Their choices were unanimous and fitted perfectly with the way I was leaning towards. I reckon that’s a good start already.

So, to keep the momentum going (something so vital to challenges of this nature) I have decided to post the starting point of my novel here. These words won’t be counted on the official NanoWriMo Challenge, so the new novel will quite literally continue from the last word of this intro.

I’ve chosen The Incident At Wolfe Creek as the working title. This has nothing to do with the horror movie of a similar name (which sadly did not feature anything of Western Australia). My story has everything to do with the physical location of the amazing geological feature which inspired this story – Wolfe Creek Crater, there on the border of Western Australia and Northern Territory. This amazing crater was formed by a pretty big meteorite crashing into that spot on Earth a few aeons ago. Even more intriguing, it has a few amazing local legends and folklore attached to it. What better inspiration for a sci-fi/fantasy novel?

I wrote the intro whilst travelling in Australia earlier this year. I’d love to know if you agree with the wee cousins and myself. Please feel free to post your comments below. Without further ado, let me introduce to you my NanoWriMo offering:

‘The brightest star – the star we call Warna – it fell from the sky. The whole world shook. It dug a big hole. Then it lay quiet. For a long time it lays quiet. Who knows when it will wake…’ That’s what the old ones said. But it is just a story now. I don’t believe it. My grandfather don’t believe it. His father don’t believe it. But that’s what the old ones said. The brightest star – the one we call Warna – it will awaken and shine in the sky as brightly as it did before…”

The Incident at Wolfe Creek

24 hours before landfall – 1400km South of Geraldton\

I didn’t want to argue, not in this heat, not with all the flies aggravating an absurd situation into a colossal eruption of anger and more heat. We had the sunburn for that already. So I said in quite a reasonable tone, “We won’t make it. It closes at 4:30pm anyway. And it’s already 3:30pm. We can come back on the return trip.”
“It will add another half-a-day,” he pointed out. “Hardly worth it for a quick fifteen minute look around. Besides…”
“Oh, ok. Ok!” I gave in with a strained smile, trying to ignore the pinching pull behind my eyes – the ominous sign of a migraine. “We’ll have a quick look-see then strike it off the list.”
“Done!” he grinned, putting the Landcruiser into reverse. “It’s the logical thing to do.”
Strange thing many people don’t realise though – logical doesn’t always equal smart or even right.

 

 

 

Share your thoughts

