What I learned From My Grandmother–Inge Saunders


My first ever guest-poster is from Cape Town. Inge Saunders is a fellow South African writer and blogger. Inspired to write romance by her grandmother, here she is to start things off in our celebration honoring grandmothers.

Thank you Leenna for inviting me to come on your blog today and share what I learned from my grandma.

First of all I have to give you a bit of background on this phenomenal woman.
My grandmother was a factory worker and sometimes a nanny. She also served as a cook in hotels on weekends. This meant she was unschooled in the traditional sense of the word, but she placed a high value on education, therefore she instilled that value in her children and grandchildren.
When she died in 2010 she left a legacy of teachers, lawyers, a magistrate, an advocate, a doctor, two engineers, a writer, painter, musician, policeman, a small business owner, a pastor & counselor, an accountant, etc. It took a certain level of strength and determination to achieve such a feat especially in Apartheid, South Africa, with eight kids! Yes, eight *smile*
And though this was probably one of the biggest lessons I learned from her, because it was so verbal in its delivery *wink*, the unspoken lessons she taught, as I went to her house after school every afternoon, were the ones that I practice to this day without fail.
  cup 2

Here’s ‘Five Life Changing Lessons I learned from my Grandma’: 

1. Never leave a dirty bath

*laughs* Yeah I know this may not seem like an earth shattering lesson. But it’s a good one. Not only is it something you practice in your own home, but you take it with you wherever you go. And guess what? People notice it and appreciate it.

cup 3

2. My grandma had this intimidating collection of tea sets, from the delicate flowery and gold ones, to the very whimsical artistic sets that only a collector could love. As a teenager I was commissioned to serve tea, with detailed instructions on presentation. As I’d made the rounds with the tea tray, smiling at all the ‘aunties’ and answering their questions of my studies and what I wanted to do after school,


I learned how to be a hostess:


How to engage, do small talk and work a room. I didn’t know how valuable that was until I realized how difficult it was for most of my peers to do at varsity. At age eighteen I was articulate, charming and could serve a mean tea!

cup 4

3. Always have ‘mad money’.

What’s ‘mad money’ you ask? *smile* There’s a movie named after the concept, and stars Diane Keaton, Queen Latifah and Katie Holmes. Mad money is basically money you hide from yourself in a place you won’t have easy access to. My grandmother was the queen of ‘mad money’ and I’ve taken it into adulthood.

cup 5

4. Keep your word.

When you promised someone you’re going to do something or give something, unless you’re in a predicament, keep your word. It’s the measure of your integrity.

cup 1

5. And last but not least,

make extra.

When you cook make enough for an extra plate, you never know who might show up at your door *smile*

Thank you, Inge. I, too, am going to try the ‘mad money’ advice 😀
And I would have loved to have had tea at your grandmothers; her tea-sets sound fabulous.

Next week

Melissa Rose has a list from her grandmothers that you won’t want to miss!

About Inge:

527552_10151169740805772_1300742313_nInge Saunders fell in love with books when she started reading romance novels with her grandmother. Intrigued by the worlds books unlocked, it was inevitable that she would take pen to paper.
At age fourteen she wrote her first novel that wasn’t such a roaring success according to her brother. Not discouraged she realized something fundamental. As a writer you can only write about what interest you, a principal she still upholds in adulthood.
With an Honors degree in Community Development and Learning Support, she’s a former high school teacher who now’s a partner in a small décor business. And for someone who never thought they would ever wear the ‘label’ entrepreneur, she`s proud to be known as one. She’s active in her community-involved with local NGO`s – and her church. When she’s not writing she`s reading, spending time with friends and family, taking long-long walks in her town’s Botanical Garden (Karoo Park) and losing herself in a storyline.
She’s forms part of Romance writers’ Organization of South Africa (ROSA) and currently has two books under contract with Decadent Publishing, Falling for Mr. Unexpected (December 2014) and Dance of Love (June 2015).

You can connect with Inge here:
Blog:
Inge Saunders – Inside These Lines
Facebook: https://ingesaunders.facebook.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/IngeUlrike
Pinterest: https://ingesaunders.pinterest.com
Goodreads: https://ingesaunders.goodreads.com

About Dance of Love: 

Dance-of-Love300x450

What would you do if you had to audition for the Simon Cowell of a dance company?
All roads lead to Rome when Ashley embarks on fulfilling her dream to become a world-class dancer.
But there’s one person who stands in her way. “That’s a no from me” Antonio Machiavelli.

eReader Links:

Kindle US
Kobo
Play Google

9 thoughts on “What I learned From My Grandmother–Inge Saunders

Share your thoughts

