14 Things I Have Learned From My Grandmothers–Melissa Rose


Melissa Rose is a Canadian bookworm, who, with her easy-going and frank manner, is one of the friendliest bloggers I’ve met online. I wondered if some of her interests, and her wonderful sense of humor, had been inherited from her grandmothers. Here’s what she shared:)

14 Things That I Have Learned
From My Grandmothers

Firstly, I would like to thank you, Leenna, for inviting me to write this piece for your blog, Inbetweener. It has always been a pleasure working with you.

In this post, I have compiled a list of 14 lessons that I have picked up from my grandmothers. Whilst we haven’t always seen eye-to-eye; I have the utmost love, admiration, and respect for them both.

Without further ado, I present to you my list of 14 Things that I have learned from my grandmothers:

m_flower 3Grandma has the ‘bad’ cereals
that your mother
won’t let you have

 

 

Intelligence is attractive

 

m_flower 8Take all opportunities to travel and see the world;

don’t limit yourself to one city –

The world is your oyster.

 

Don’t allow the world to break you down;
be happy with who you are.

 

m_flower 9Always take time to enjoy
the sweet things in life.

Especially chocolate; there is always room for chocolate.

 

 

Always take time for family;
sometimes they will be all you have.

m_flower 5

Learn to appreciate your familial history

 

 

Be patient with people
and treat them with kindness

 

m_flower 4

Forgiveness
is better
than anger

 

 

Be happy with your path in life;
if you aren’t happy, make a change.

m_flower 7

 

You will face hurdles in life;
however,

you have the ability to overcome them.

 

Be active in your community;
it will vastly improve your life
and sense of self-worth.

 

m_flower 6

 

Education is important;
love can wait.

 

 

Above all: Be Honest.
To others and yourself.

Thank you, Melissa. It’s always a pleasure working with you too:-)
Your grandmothers were wonderfully wise with advice and lessons that are truly universal.
I can honestly say that I’ve benefited from one or two of them!

Next week

Don’t miss Katie McCoach with her Gram’s take on trolls!

 

m_Melissa Rose Profile pic cropped

About Melissa Rose 

I am  a 25 year old hailing from the city of Vancouver, BC, Canada; who just happens to be a certified bookworm, book hoarder and tea enthusiast. I also enjoy sunny days that are not too hot and spending time with my two black labs.

 

Note from Leenna
f you (like me) love travel or enjoy exotic and authentic locations in fiction, you’ll love Melissa’s book reviews and features. She’ll take you Around The World In Books.

5 thoughts on “14 Things I Have Learned From My Grandmothers–Melissa Rose

Share your thoughts

