Stream of Consciousness: Odd/Even


This week, I’ve decided to try LindaGHill’s Saturday’s Prompt. For more prompts and interesting assignments like Stream of Consciousness, check out Linda’s blog. Find some of the rules below.

Odd how this year has started. Already so many highs and lows… Even so, it’s hardly boring:)

Odd how I’ve heard from two beloved friends, more or less on the same day (last Saturday) though they’re both from different times in my life, live a few thousand miles apart, and have never met.

Even so, it was great to see G again, a schoolfriend through my last years of school, even though it always seems to be at community events with just enough time for a hurried catch-up and a feeling of the old friendship to pop up.
“We must have coffee, and have a proper chat,” we keep saying.
Odd how hard it can be to find the time for that these days. Then again, G and I are so much alike still, we don’t hold it against each other:)

Odd how S, all the way in China, (my Chinese little sister), always writes to me just when I’ve been wondering how she is, and remembering all the great times we had hanging out together.
It’s always so wonderful to hear from her, to hear the news, and how much happier she is these days, and to feel blessed that we are still friends. I wish I had more good news for her, one of the few people who actually encouraged me as writer, but all I have are words.
Even so, I know she appreciates them. Words and mutual regard are what built our friendship, and with her being such an authentic person, I know that this is the best way for me to support her when she feels down. Even so, I wish I could do more, at least give her a hug.

Odd how quickly twenty years and five years have rushed by. Perhaps it’s because we can only remember the highest of the highest and the lowest of the low that it seems so—the edited highlights of our own reality TV show…
Even so, we know there’s much more, and friends like G and S will be there to remind us, and cheer us, even when we feel that all we’re doing is drifting.

Odd how drifting seems to get you nowhere.
Even so, as Diana Wynne Jones pointed out, that’s now here.

And I’m never so happy as when I know that my beloved friends are ‘now here’–even though we might be miles apart or in the same town.

 

Here are some of the rules for Stream of Consciousness:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week.

Read the full set of rules here.

 

4 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness: Odd/Even

Share your thoughts

