Love Finds A Way: An Interview With Kathy Bosman


Meet Kathy Bosman, a fellow South African and author of romance in its many forms. She’s just released her new book and is giving away a copy of one of her books to celebrate. I thought it was a great time to find out about Kathy, her books and what’s it like being a mother, homeschooler and writer!

You’ve got an impressive back catalogue of romance books from contemporary to magic realism. You’ve been published by small presses and self-publish yourself. What were the lowest lows and highest highs?
Thank you! It’s been quite a journey so far and I probably have a long journey ahead too. I’d say the lowest point was a couple of months before I obtained my first publishing contract. Honestly, I’d received about fifty rejection letters and was about to give up. I didn’t think it was worth all the effort. I’d written several books and none of them were accepted. In hindsight, I totally get it why they were rejected. One of my highest moments was when Astraea Press (now Clean Reads) gave me my first contract for Wedding Gown Girl. It only came after the owner took me aside and spent time editing one of my rubbish books, showing me where I’d messed up. She really was so kind to do that.

The next year and a half, I went into a writing frenzy and published about five or six books. I was on a roll.

Then I began to experience some problems with another publisher I’d signed up with – specifically on the editing side and shutting down lines that I was writing for. My sales continued to be terribly slow and I received some bad reviews. I became discouraged. There are still days when the money part discourages me. I had heard about the benefits of self-publishing from other authors. I’d say the freedom of self-publishing my album series has brought another high. But I’ve also just recently gone through a slow-down in my writing and lack of inspiration. I think it’s picking up again. There are always many highs and lows. The signing of a contract is always a high and then the reading through the galleys just before publication is usually a low to me – I see all the negatives in my book and doubt myself.

I was excited to discover that you’re another Durban-born writer based in a smaller town in Kwa-Zulu Natal. I know how difficult it is being isolated from what seems to be the hub of writing activity: Johannesburg and Cape Town. Do you view this as a positive or a negative when it comes to writing? How do you cope as a writer and make this work for you?
Well, thankfully, I have a decent internet connection! The ROSA group truly has been the wind beneath my wings in getting my writing career going. I wouldn’t have made it without them. Nowadays, I keep up-to-date on Facebook and other social media. Although my relationships with other writers are only online, they have helped immensely so I don’t feel so isolated.

Sometimes, when I go out and meet local people here, I feel rather out. Very few people read even, and romance is not usually their first choice. I haven’t met any writers in my home town. It’s made it hard for me to do promotions locally and I only do them online. I’ve just been contacted by my local library to do an hour-long slot for “library week.” This is a big breakthrough for me.

Whether being away from Durban and Joburg has really affected me, I don’t know. Maybe the hardest part is not being able to join the ROSA meet-ups and having to travel and find accommodation for the conference. Other than that, I’d say the Internet has made it not so bad after all.

You’re an extremely busy person: home-schooling your kids, housework, cooking and crafting; all this plus writing and blogging! What’s your secret for finding the time for it all?
I actually think I can get distracted so easily. I do the bare bones with housework and thankfully have a domestic worker once a week to do the crummy jobs like dusting, vacuuming and mopping. Yes, laundry and cooking take up a lot of my time! My kids are older now and work independently, so I have about 3-4 hours a day to write. The problem with having lots of time is that I’m less disciplined whereas before when I had little time, I’d write furiously. It’s also hard when I get writer’s block or burnout. But I think it’s all a learning curve on how to manage my time. I’ll get there.

Which of your books is your personal favourite? Why is that?
Oh dear! That’s a hard one. I think it’s usually the one I’m writing at the time. Then once it’s been through edits, I hate it! Maybe I like A Better Promise – that book was one of the first I ever wrote and it is very close to my heart. I also love The Album Book 4 – Love’s Gentle Wish which hasn’t come out yet. For some reason, Andrea, my heroine, is one of my favourites. But it hasn’t been edited yet so it may lose its charm after that. Wedding Gown Girl also holds a special place in my heart as it was my first published novel.

What are your future writing plans? Is there a new series you’re working on, or a new genre you’d like to try?
Oh dear. I’m in limbo at the moment. I’m busy writing a short story based on my album series – it’s the story of one of the secondary characters who features in Book 3 and 4. I don’t have any series plans. I’m still battling to come to terms with finishing my album series as I enjoyed it so much. Maybe I will start a similar series to the album series.

I just need inspiration.

Your newest book is Love Finds A Way, Book Two of the magical Album Series. Tell us about the series. How did you come up with the idea?
I don’t know. It just popped into my head – the idea of a magic album that shows whether a couple has a future. I wanted to incorporate some magic into my books and try out fantasy as opposed to just plain contemporary.

I also wanted to write a series about four girlie friends who each have their own romance story. I wished for them to have very tight-knit relationships with one another. Isn’t that an ideal world? Sometimes in life, we get so busy that we don’t form deep relationships with others.

My book epitomises my fantasy, lol – having several close female friends who stick with me no matter what.

If Pauline, from Love Finds A Way were to give your readers one piece of cooking advice, what would that be?
Experiment – don’t always stick to the recipe. Stick another spice or ingredient in there that you think may work. The more you try, the more you’ll learn.

If Xaden, from Love Finds A Way, were to give us one piece of travel advice, what would that be?
He-he! Um, traveling is fun, but make sure you have a place called home where you can come to rest, preferably near family or loved ones.

If The Album could work its magic on you, what do you think it would bring up in your life? 🙂
Well, to be honest, I wouldn’t like to know the future. But if I had to, I’d like The Album to tell me that hubby and I still have many more happy years together!

Thanks Kathy! Read on to find out more about Love Finds A Way, and to enter the giveaway for the first book in The Album series.

About the book:

Love Finds A Way Cover 11Love Finds a Way
The Album Book 2 – Pauline’s Story

When Ella hands over The Album to Pauline, the young food blogger is about to embark on an adventure of a lifetime—she’s been chosen as a contestant in The Culinary Dream, a TV cooking competition. Pauline takes The Album with her to Italy where the filming is to take place and meets food photographer, Xaden, the brother of the man who ripped out her heart and put her off relationships for a long time.

To her dismay, she gets eliminated from the competition on the first round. Humiliated and determined not to be pitied by her friends and family, she decides to stay behind in Italy for a holiday as well as blog about her restaurant experiences in the exotic European country.

Xaden won’t leave her alone and proves to be a friend in a time of need but when he kisses her, she pushes him away, afraid he’ll hurt her like his brother did. The TV series offers her a job as the editor of the food magazine and she is to work alongside the very man she wishes to avoid. Forced to be with the man she can’t resist but whom her instincts tell her she can’t trust, Pauline is in for an emotional roller-coaster ride with The Album as her companion and guide.

Short Excerpt

Pauline nodded and zipped her bag closed, then lifted her chin. Why had she become a quivering mess? No more time for fear. Time to go get that prize. If she wanted it. Did she really want to live in Italy for a year? Oh, crumbs, what was she thinking when she pressed send on the online application?
Her mother tapped Pauline’s watch.
“Time to go.” She gave her daughter a light kiss on the forehead. “I’m going to miss you, but this is going to be the best year of your life. You’ll see, girl.”
Her mother gave her such an assured nod, some of Pauline’s doubt faded. Not all, though. On jelly legs, she made her way through customs and to hand in her luggage. As she picked up her suitcase, a tingle ran up her arm. The Album lay in the centre, padded with all her clothing. She’d signed her name on it the night before. A sense of strength trickled into her bones. Could The Album actually speak to her? She almost felt it tell her it would be with her and help her. It assured her she’d walk the right way and have success.
Okay, I think I can handle this flight now.
I’m ready. Italy, here I come.

Buy at

Amazon       Smashwords       Kobo Books      Barnes and Noble

Enter Kathy’s giveaway here

About Kathy Bosman

Kathy-purpleshirtKathy lives in South Africa, where the summers are hot, the winters cool and bugs thrive. She writes romance in many forms, most of the time with women who feel deeply, men who care strongly and characters who learn lessons along the way. Every so often, she sprinkles a little magic in her stories. When she’s not writing, she makes sure her kids work hard as they do school at home, tries not to get too distracted by dust bunnies and cooks up a storm to keep the tummies full. When she’s not hectically busy, she loves reading romance and fantasy novels, watching movies, and dabbling in different crafty things, depending on her mood.
Kathy’s Website and blog        Facebook        Twitter         Goodreads
Pinterest
       Amazon       YouTube       Newsletter Subscription     Authorgraph

Share your thoughts

